

Independent Legislative Ethics Commission

2019 Summary Data Report to the Utah Legislature

Independent Legislative Ethics Commission Commission Chair: David Clark Executive Director: Kim J. Bouck PO Box 142325 Salt Lake City, Utah 84114 Phone: (801) 326-1422

Purpose of the Report

The Summary Data Report to the Utah Legislature was prepared in accordance with JR6-2-104. This rule requires the Independent Legislative Ethics Commission to prepare an annual report of the Commission's activities, including the following:

- A general description of the activities of the Commission during the past year
- Statistical information for ethical complaints
- An accounting of the Commission's budget and expenditures

General Description of Activities

The Commission held its annual meeting on January 14, 2019. At that meeting, Judge Hans Chamberlain and Ms. Karen Morgan were sworn in as Commission members. Mr. David Clark was voted in as the Chair of the Commission. Judge Michael Lyon was voted in as the Chair Pro Tempore.

The 2019 Commission membership is as follows: Mr. David Clark, Chair Judge Michael Lyon, Chair Pro Tempore Judge Gordon J. Low Ms. Karen Morgan Judge Hans Chamberlain

Statistical Information for Ethical Complaints

During 2019, the number of ethical complaints filed with the commission is as follows:

- The number of ethics complaints filed with the commission: 0
- The number of complaints filed against a member of the House of Representatives: 0
- The number of complaints filed against a member of the Senate: 0

Accounting of Commission's Budget and Expenditures

In 2019, the following expenditures were paid out of the Legislative Ethics Commission's budget:

\$6000 – Executive Director Salary

Total expenditures for 2018 - \$6000.00