Utah Ethics


Judge Michael D. Lyon, Chair

Judge Michael D. Lyon was appointed to the Second District Court in July 1992 by Governor Norman H. Bangerter and served Davis, Morgan, and Weber counties. He was founding president of the Rex E. Lee American Inn of Court, an organization dedicated to promoting ethics and professionalism within the legal profession. Before becoming a district judge, Judge Lyon was the justice court judge for South Ogden City and practiced law with the law firm of Lyon, Helegesen, Waterfall, & Jones in Ogden. He is a past member of the Ethics & Disciplinary Committee and the Courts and Judges Committee of the Utah State Bar. He also served two terms on the Board of District Judges, including serving as its chair, and a term on the Utah Judicial Council. Judge Lyon received his B.S., cum laude, from Weber State College and his J.D. degree from the University of Utah in 1971. In 2013, he received the Utah State Bar’s Judge of the Year Award.

Judge Gordon J. Low, Chair Pro Tempore

Judge Gordon J. Low was appointed to the First District Court in 1987 by Gov. Norman S. Bangerter and served as the presiding judge for Box Elder, Cache, and Rich counties. After receiving his JD from Arizona State University in 1973, he joined the law firm of Hillyard & Gunnell as an associate and later became a partner. Judge Low is a former member of the Commission on Justice in the 21st Century. He is a past chair of the Board of District Court Judges, the Judicial Conduct Commission, and the Utah Judicial Standing Committee on Education. Judge Low also served as a member of the Supreme Court Advisory Committee on Evidence and the Family Court Task Force.

Karen Morgan

Ms. Karen Morgan is a former high school teacher. She was first elected to the Utah Legislature in 1998. She served five terms in the House of Representatives and served one term in the Utah Senate where she served as the Minority Whip. Morgan championed key issues such as education, literacy, healthcare, economic development and child protection. She founded the University of Utah Reading Clinic in 1999 through legislation she sponsored, and in 2011 she founded the “Best Schools Coalition,” which strives to make Utah’s public education system the best in the nation. Ms. Morgan has a Bachelors in secondary education from the University of Utah.

Judge Hans Chamberlain

Judge Hans Chamberlain retired as a Fifth District Juvenile Judge representing Washington, Iron and Beaver counties. He served in this capacity from 1995 to 2014. Judge Chamberlain received his JD from the University of Utah College of Law.  During his legal career, he has worked in both the private and public sector. Judge Chamberlain served as an attorney for Iron County for eight years. He also served as president of the Utah State Bar, a member of the Utah State Board of Regents and as Vice Chair of the Judicial Council for the Utah State Courts. Before his appointment to the juvenile court, he was a senior member of the firm of Chamberlain & Higbee.

David Clark

Mr. Clark retired from his banking career as a Senior Vice President for International Banking for Zions Bank. Clark served as a member of the Utah State House of Representatives from 2000 – 2012, serving as Majority Leader from 2006 – 2008 and as the Speaker of the House from 2008 – 2010. Clark is best known for his work on health care issues, helping to create Utah’s Health Insurance Exchange and chairing the Health Reform Task Force. Mr. Clark has a Bachelors from Brigham Young University, where he played football for coach LaVell Edwards and is a graduate of University of Washington’s Pacific Coast School of Banking.